3 Stadia 2010

Architecture for an African Dream

Falk Jaeger

24 x 32 cm
176 pages, 157 col. and 12 b/w

Out of print

Go back

For the first time, the FIFA Football World Cup took place in Africa in 2010. The main legacy of this great African dream are the stadiums, including three match locations built by German architects, gmp von Gerkan, Marg and Partners, in cooperation with the engineers, schlaich bergermann and partner. Their succinct forms, logically developed from their technical construction, have made the stadiums landmarks of the three South African coastal cities of Durban, Port Elizabeth and Cape Town; they are now certainly among the most impressive examples of their kind. This book not only provides portraits of the stadiums; it also tells stories of football, Africa, and the complex relationships between architecture and people.

Contributions by: Wolfgang Drechsler, Knut Göppert, Falk Jaeger, Richard Klug, Volkwin Marg, Hubert Nienhoff, Thomas Scheen.


Go back

There are no results for your search.
Please try again or just browse through our books.